Camp ASCCA

This past weekend I volunteered as a camp counselor for Camp ASCAA’s Fun Fish Weekend. ASCCA stands for Alabama Special Camp for Children and Adults. We had campers ranging from teenagers to 50+. I honestly did not at all know what to expect going into this weekend, but I believe this weekend was more than I could have ever imagined it would be!

25817913941_3b46f1a0e5_h

These are all my new friends that I had the pleasure of spending the weekend with. My life will never be the same because of these people right here. Those campers will tug on your heart without even trying.

25283794024_22980ab99a_b

Since it was “Fun Fish Weekend,” of course we were fishing basically all weekend. We had one session where we were able to go out on a boat fish and the other sessions we went pond fishing or fished off the dock. My girl Jordan here had an absolute blast out on the boat. She LOVED to “go fast”. Though we didn’t catch any fish while we were out on the boat she still giggled and laughed the whole time. She did manage to catch a few fish when we went pond fishing. Though, she was really more interested in catching boys that she was fish. LOL! We had a rough weekend at times, but we made it and she even told me she MIGHT miss me.

25275714634_99e9c4de77_h

The first night at camp we danced the night away! The Whip and Nae Nae was a big hit with the campers, and let me just tell you, those campers have got some serious moves. Many of them out danced me by a long shot! We had a couple dance battles break out that night as well!

25813472561_33e1caa974_h25908581825_221ebb103c_k

My girl Dani did her best to teach me all of her moves! We danced together a good bit of the night. I wish I had a fraction of the energy this girl has. I also wish I could dance as well as she does!

25882573316_fe8ea22152_k.jpg

We made some time for some slow dances too. This kid was one of my buddies throughout the whole weekend, and one of many men who asked for my hand in marriage this weekend.

25919949615_0b379765bb_b

We had a talent show this weekend as well. As I’m sure you can tell from this picture it was one of the highlights of the weekend. We all sang and danced along with each other. These kids and adults were a whole lot of fun and all had many, many talents!

I left this weekend nearly in tears because I didn’t want to leave. Camp ASCCA will forever hold a special place in my heart! I so wish I could spend my whole summer there with these wonderful people. Telling the campers I would not see them this summer was way harder than I ever imagined it would be, but no worries I’ll be at every weekend event they allow me to be part of ♥

Leave a Reply

