The first few checks

Over these last few days since beginning my list I have made the first few checks. It’s been fun trying to make some checks off my list. Some have been so much fun and others have been hard.

We will start with #1 on the list…deleting all social media apps off my phone. This was and is definitely a hard one, and I can only hope as the year goes by my want for the Facebook app lessens. In the world we live in today we are all glued to our phones ALL THE TIME! I catch myself all the time not paying attention to the world in front of me or even the people talking to me because I am scrolling through my Facebook/Instagram/Twitter feed. (I know, HOW RUDE!) I know I am not the only person who does this though, so that does make me feel a little better but not much. Since deleting all those wonderful apps from my phone it has really been an eye opener to me about how much I actually used them. I find myself constantly picking up my phone and instantly clicking the space where my Facebook app was, then remembering, “Oh yeah, I deleted those to enjoy the world around me more.” I honestly did not realize just how much I actually used them. I knew it was a lot, but my mind has been blown realizing how much time I wasted on Facebook! I recently read and shared an article titled, “I Should Be Engaged.”, if you didn’t read it you really should. I almost didn’t read it because of the title, I thought it was going to be an article about some twenty-something year old girl who is ready to be engaged to the man of her dreams. The article is all about being more engaged in this world we live in and seeing all of its beauty. If you are struggling with this constant use of your phone you must read the article. Just click on the article title above.

While on vacation during Christmas Break I received an email letting me know I had a new roommate moving into my student apartment. Priya, my original roommate, and I were both devastated at this email. We were so negative thinking about what this person was going to be like and we just absolutely knew she was going to be like the others…absolutely TERRIBLE! The new roommate is our 4th roommate since living in this complex. I know just how horrible that sounds, trust me, but we don’t budge on how we feel and certainly do NOT tolerate illegal things happening in our apartment. Well, we recently got back from break to meet this new roommate of ours. Turns out she is just fantastic! She is from Kuwait and is in the states for school. She is absolutely everything we wanted in the last 4 people that have come through out unit. We have all become friends over the last few days and it is WONDERFUL! So I made a new friend (#26) and am now living with an international student (#49)! You will hear more about this as I’m sure there will be lots of fun stories that come from living with an international student.

#29 is to be a SouthBound Orientation Leader. This past week I experienced my first orientations on the other side. Man, is there a lot of work put into making orientation day one of the best days for our future Jaguars! Oh, but it is SO much fun and so worth the work put into it!! Getting to spend the entire day welcoming all of these baby jags, giving them tips, teaching them the ins and outs of campus, and of course helping them develop a perfect schedule for their first semester is so fun. Getting up and being on campus before the sun ever rises is oh so hard but like it said, completely worth it!! More will come on this one too over the summer when we have our big orientations.

Stay tuned for more checks to be made over the next week! I’ll try to capture pictures for all of the checks that can be captured! I completely forgot about pictures this week. Also, huge thanks to everyone following and encouraging me on this great adventure!

Leave a Reply

